I heard something recently that made me think that I should start blogging again.

If your experience could help even one person and you choose to keep it to yourself, you are doing a disservice to the world.

If you have been reading my blog then you know that I gave away most of my possessions and moved to Tokyo.

Then I started teaching English and building up an AdWords/SEO consulting business on the side.

Now I am running this business full-time, which has brought with it some of the biggest challenges that I have faced in my life. It has also brought an intoxicating sense of freedom – freedom to and freedom from. Freedom to travel when I want to; freedom from being trapped in a cubicle. Freedom from the morning commute. Freedom to set my own schedule.

My life has also become much messier, more difficult to balance, and frankly, more exhausting in a way that is somehow different from when I worked for a large corporation.

I often feel ashamed of how messy and chaotic my life is. Although I’ve only been running this business for 8 months, I feel like it should be more organized, professional, and consistent.

I often feel like I need to hide this messiness and put up a front that everything is easy now, and that I’ve reached the promised land of time freedom and location independence.

Instead, I’ve come back to blogging in order to share my honest experience in the hopes that it can help at least one person who might be going through something similar.

So stay tuned.

