I am on vacation in Vancouver and am lucky enough to be staying in beautiful Kitsilano, the neighbourhood that I used to live in. Today I decided to have a little minimalist fun and go for a run in the rain (of course it’s raining – this is Vancouver after all). I decided to push myself a little bit out of my comfort zone and practice my karate kata down by Kitsilano Beach. I’ve been doing karate for about four months now and I really love it. The karate kata are patterns of movements that we practice. I’ve recently learned five new ones and I didn’t want to forget them during my vacation.

So I was out on Kitsilano Beach punching and kicking the air (in a pattern of course) for a good twenty minutes or so. I felt a little self-conscious and sort of hoped that an ex-boyfriend wouldn’t pick that moment to take a walk by the beach. A few people stopped and watched but as it was raining pretty hard no one lingered. I was quite pleased with myself, got in a good workout, and didn’t spend a dime.

After a hot shower I am ready to spend the rest of the day curled up with a good book and the company of my family (and their dog!). It doesn’t get much better than this.

